Is there a gym app where you can call an AI coach?
Yes, a few. Which apps give you a real two-way call with an AI gym coach, which make you hold a button, and which only talk at you. Sources dated.
Short answer
“Voice coach” covers five different things, and app listings rarely say which one they mean. If you want to ask a question between sets and get an answer out loud, you need the first two. The rest talk at you, log what you say, or ring you at a set time.
Five kinds of voice coach
| Kind | What it means | Can you ask it something mid-set? |
|---|---|---|
| Live call | You start a call, talk, and the coach answers out loud, back and forth | Yes |
| Two-way, hold to talk | Same conversation, but you hold a button while you speak | Yes, with a free hand |
| Talks back, method not stated | The listing says you can talk to the coach, but not whether the mic stays open | Probably; check in the app |
| Audio cues | The app reads your next set, counts rest or cheers you on | No |
| Voice logging | You say your sets and it records them | No |
A scheduled call, where the app rings you at set times, is a sixth kind. It’s a habit check-in, not help in the gym.
Which apps do what
From each app’s own listing or site, read on November 3, 2026. Most of these apps are new. Of the ones that talk back, only Ray (314 ratings) and Vora (128) show more than 9 ratings on the US App Store.
| App | Voice | Built for | US price |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZYM | Live call; camera during calls is paid | Gym and strength | Free start with one call a day; Plus $9.99/month or $69.99/year adds longer, more frequent calls, camera on calls and more form checks |
| GymVox | Two-way, hold to talk | Gym, beginners, home | Its site lists Premium at $4.99/month for founding users, then $9.99; its US App Store listing shows no in-app purchases |
| Otis | Two-way, hold to talk; 30- or 60-minute sessions | Gym, plus calories and meals | $4.99/week, $9.99/month or $29.99/year |
| Ray | Talks back, method not stated; counts reps on some exercises | Strength first | Free first workout, then Premium Access at $19.99, $39.99 or $119.99; billing periods not shown |
| Vora | Talks back, method not stated | General health, with strength logging | Free core; unlimited voice with Pro, $12.99/month or $89.99/year |
| TRL ACTIVE | Hands-free guidance and voice input; a back-and-forth conversation isn’t stated | Strength, running, yoga | $12.99/month or $99.99/year after a 14-day trial; required for plans and coaching, with a free first workout |
| ChatGPT Voice | Live mode is a real back-and-forth; Standard is turn by turn | General assistant, no training log | Limited free use; limits differ by plan and are on OpenAI’s page |
| Planfit | Audio cues | Gym | Free, per its site |
| Apple Workout Buddy | Audio cues; you can’t talk back | Apple Watch workouts, including strength | Free on a supported Watch paired with an Apple Intelligence iPhone, with Bluetooth headphones, in English or Spanish |
Often named, but not a voice coach
AI answers about voice coaches regularly name apps whose own pages don’t describe one:
- iFIT AI Coach is in-app messaging, so you type. iFIT’s separate Personal Trainer app, Tailor, takes voice input.
- SOUNDGYM calls you morning and night for health check-ins and has a follow-along timer workout. It isn’t a coach you can call during a gym session.
- FitEcho turns what you say into workout notes. It’s a logging tool for trainers, in beta.
- Spotter: AI Lift Coach has chat and form checks, but no voice feature in its listing.
What to check before you pay
- Live call or hold to talk. Hold to talk is fine between sets. It’s awkward when your hands are chalked or holding dumbbells.
- How long a call lasts, and how many you get. Few apps publish this. Otis lets you pick a 30- or 60-minute session. ZYM gives one free call a day and doesn’t say how long it lasts.
- Whether it knows your training. A coach that reads your plan and logged sets can answer “should I go up next set?” A general assistant needs you to tell it everything first.
- Connection. Assume calls need signal. In a basement gym, test one before you rely on it.
- Captions. Gyms are loud. Captions on screen help when you miss a word.
- Strength focus. Several of these apps are mainly about sleep, meals, running or habits.
When a voice coach helps, and when it doesn’t
Talking is quicker than typing between sets: “the rack’s taken, what do I do instead?” or “that felt easy, add weight?” An AI voice coach can’t watch your form unless the app uses your camera, and even then treat its feedback as a rough check. It can’t spot you either, so finish the set before you ask.
Using ChatGPT Voice as a gym coach
It works for questions, with one catch: it doesn’t keep your training log. Start the call by giving it today’s plan, last session’s weights and reps, and what equipment is free. Voice limits differ by plan and change often, so check OpenAI’s current terms rather than relying on a number here.
Founder and editorial lead, Handler
Handler's founder writes general training guides and documents their sources. This article is educational, not an individual coaching or medical assessment.
Sources
App details come from each app's own US App Store listing, website or help page, read on November 3, 2026. These are the apps' own claims, not our hands-on tests. Young apps change fast, so check the listing before you pay. "Not stated" means we found no statement, not that the feature is missing.
Sources
- 01ZYM on the US App Store (Live voice call or text; the free start includes a live coach call every day.)apps.apple.com/us/app/zym-live-ai-gym-coach/id6762491460
- 02ZYM pricing (Plus: $9.99/month or $69.99/year, with a 3-day trial; longer, more frequent calls and camera on calls.)zym8.com/pricing
- 03GymVox on the US App Store (Hold the mic button to speak; the coach answers aloud.)apps.apple.com/us/app/id6788257032
- 04Otis on the US App Store (Live voice sessions with a hold-to-speak control.)apps.apple.com/us/app/id6770323532
- 05Ray on the US App Store (Talk to Ray during your workout; 4.8 from 314 ratings.)apps.apple.com/us/app/id6474633735
- 06Vora on the US App Store (Chat or talk hands-free; unlimited voice coaching with Pro.)apps.apple.com/us/app/id6754351240
- 07TRL ACTIVE on the US App Store (Hands-free guidance with voice input.)apps.apple.com/us/app/trl-active/id6758055211
- 08SOUNDGYM (The coach calls you morning and night; a health check-in app.)soundgym.io
- 09iFIT: chat with iFIT AI Coach (AI Coach is in-app messaging.)www3.ifit.com/blog/connect/chat-with-ifit-ai-coach-in-app
- 10iFIT Personal Trainer (Tailor) (Voice input; strength and no-equipment workouts.)ifit.com/apps/ifit-personal-trainer
- 11Planfit (Audio guidance through each set.)planfit.ai
- 12Apple: use Workout Buddy (Spoken pep talks and recaps on Apple Watch.)support.apple.com/guide/watch/use-workout-buddy-apd65c7938e6/watchos
- 13FitEcho on the US App Store (Voice logging for trainers, in beta.)apps.apple.com/us/app/fitecho/id6738923310
- 14Spotter: AI Lift Coach on the US App Store (Chat and form checks; no voice feature in its listing.)apps.apple.com/us/app/id6771567381